CN Sabadell and CNSA Will Play the Final League
CN Sabadell and CNSA Will Play in the Final of the Primera División
May 8, 2018
LEN Champions League 2017/18, Group Stage Day 14: Summary
May 10, 2018
Show all

10 Best Women Teams To Battle for the 2018 NCAA Trophy

10 Best Women Teams To Battle for the 2018 NCAA Trophy

Live from Los Angeles, Tony Karaman brings news about the 2018 NCAA Championships in California.

USC hosts NCAA action at Uytengsu Aquatics Center this week

This is a big week for women’s college water polo in most likely the best female water polo league in the world. We’ll have the pleasure to watch many great female water polo players who represented their countries at many international competitions including Olympics, World Championships etc. competing for the 2018 NCAA title. The best ten teams from all over the country will start their competition today. This year’s National Collegiate field includes seven automatic qualifiers from conference championships and three at-large teams.

Six teams qualify directly to the championship field, and the remaining four teams will compete in Opening Round games, set for May 8 at USC. Those winners will advance to quarterfinal games set for May 11, with semifinals held May 12 and the NCAA Championship game set for 3 p.m. on May 13. All games will be played at USC’s Uytengsu Aquatics Center. Earning automatic berths this year — along with MPSF champion USC — are Michigan (CWPA), Pacific (Golden Coast), Pomona-Pitzer (SCIAC), UC Irvine (Big West), UC San Diego (WWPA) and Wagner (MAAC). This year’s at-large teams are California, Stanford, and UCLA — all out of the MPSF.

The host of this year’s National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship, USC will look to capture a sixth national championship when the top-seeded Trojans set up camp as the top seeds at their own Uytengsu Aquatics Center for NCAA action running May 11-13. USC (23-1) will open the 2018 NCAA Tournament at noon on May 11, playing the winner of May 8’s 7 p.m. Opening Round game between UC San Diego (24-11) and Wagner (24-6).

In the other Opening Round game on May 8, Pomona-Pitzer (21-10) will face UC Irvine (14-13) at 4:30 p.m. for the right to play No. 2 seed Stanford (18-3) in a 3:30 p.m. quarterfinal on May 11. The other May 11 quarterfinal matchups are set: No. 4 seed UCLA (22-7) takes on Pacific (18-7) at 1:45 p.m., while No. 3 seed California (19-5) faces Michigan (32-8) at 5:15 p.m. Winners advance to May 12 semifinal rounds, with the 2018 national championship bout set for 3 p.m. on May 13. All games, May 8-13, will be held at USC’s Uytengsu Aquatics Center in Los Angeles.

2018 NCAA Championships

(All times are local PST)

Opening Rounds: Tuesday, May 8

16:30UC San Diego

19:00UC Irvine

Friday, May 11

12:00[1] USC
UC San Diego/Wagner
13:45[4] UCLA

15:30[2] Stanford
UC Irvine/Pomona-Pitzer
15:15[3] California

Saturday, May 12

Semifinal 1

Semifinal 2

Sunday, May 13

Championship Game

You can find the Tournament Central on this link.

Live Streams

May 8:

May 11-13:

Leave a Reply