“Time for action” – FINA’s World Water Polo Conference Resume
April 30, 2018
Water Polo World League Round 03 Preview
WPWL 2018: Spain, Russia and the Netherlands off to the Super Final
May 3, 2018
Show all

2018 NC Women’s Water Polo Championship – Selections Revealed

2018 NC Women's Water Polo Championship - Selections Revealed

Photo: Bruins Nation

The news about the 2018 NC women’s water polo comes from Indianapolis. The NCAA writes that the Women’s Water Polo Committee has announced the 10 teams that will be competing for the 2018 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship. Six teams have been placed in the bracket –  the remaining four teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket via two opening-round games.

On May 8 at the Uytengsu Aquatics Center, the opening rounds will be played. The winners will advance to the championship, which will be held May 11th to 13th at the same venue. It will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament with seven games.

The Rounds

In the opening round games, UC San Diego (24-11) will play Wagner (24-6). The winner will be placed in the championship bracket to play Southern California (23-1) in Game 1. In the other opening round game, UC Irvine (14-13) will play Pomona-Pitzer (21-10), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play Stanford (18-3) in Game 3.

Rounding out the bracket will be UCLA (22-7) facing Pacific (18-7) in Game 2 and California (19-5) competing against Michigan (32-8) in Game 4. Please reference the championship bracket for all game times.

 School  Qualifier
 No. 1 Southern California  MPSF automatic bid
 No. 2 Stanford  At-large qualifier
 No. 3 California  At-large qualifier
 No. 4 UCLA  At-large qualifier
 UC Irvine  Big West automatic bid
 UC San Diego  WWPA automatic bid
 Wagner  MAAC automatic bid
 Pacific  Golden Coast Conference automatic bid
 Pomona-Pitzer  SCIAC automatic bid
 Michigan  CWPA automatic bid

Automatic qualifiers were awarded to the Big West Conference (UC Irvine), Collegiate Water Polo Association (Michigan), Golden Coast Conference (Pacific), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Wagner), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (Southern California), Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (Pomona-Pitzer) and the Western Water Polo Association (UC San Diego). The remaining three teams were selected at-large without geographical restrictions.

First Round

May 8, 22:00UC San Diego

May 8. 19:30UC Irvine


May 11, 15:00USC
May 11, 16:45UCLA

May 11, 18:30Stanford
May 11, 20:15California


May 12, 18:00

May 12. 20:00


May 13, 18:00

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to hear the latest news from the water polo world!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *